Putting Myself In The Story

This is another case where I’m not sure if I’m different from other authors or pretty much the same. My main character is a heck of a lot like me in several ways, and I’m not sure if that makes him a better character, or a worse one.

Like my hero, I’m 40-something and disabled, though my specific disability is different from his. I also like to think I’m fairly intelligent, though that’s subject to debate (especially among my male friends, but you guys know how insults are a fundamental part of male banter).

Now, there are significant differences. I’m not a librarian, though I’ve always loved books. And I’m not quite as naive about the world at large as my hero is, though I am sure I have my fair share of naivete. And I’m certainly not a magician.

On the other hand, I’d love to be able to cast real spells. In most of the fantasy games I play, both online and off, I tend towards spellcaster classes. It’s just who I am, I guess. So maybe my hero is an idealized version of myself, the me I’d like to be.

Whether or not this makes me strange, that’s the way it turned out. We’ll see if the readers like it or not.

Leave a comment

Filed under Personal, Writing

Leave a Comment

