To Pen Name, or Not To Pen Name?

Okay, here’s a question for all of you reading this…

If you’ve seen on my comments, my last name is somewhat unusual. It’s spelled Fernau, but pronounced “fern-O.” It’s Americanized French, which accounts for the confusion.

I’ve pondered using the original French spelling, Ferneaux, as a pen name, but I’m really not sure about it yet. It would be easier for people to pronounce on first sight, but I dunno if that’s a good enough reason to use it.

I’ve also considered completely tossing my last name and using something else, but I’m not sure what.

So, here’s where my readers come in… write in a comment which spelling you prefer, and why. If you prefer a completely different name, why? No fair suggesting your own last name, by the way.

1 Comment

Filed under Personal, Writing

One response to “To Pen Name, or Not To Pen Name?

  1. Greenduck

    Hmm how about F. Devereaux. Or an amicanized French word that holds a special meaning to you.

Leave a Comment

