Planning vs. Pantsing

As I’ve mentioned, Librarian was pretty much written seat-of-the-pants style (pantsing), and there are definitely some advantages to doing it that way. For one, I was as surprised by how things went sometimes as I hope the reader is.

However, I am also seeing a lot of benefits to at least some planning pre-writing with The Heretic’s Challenge. For one, I have a much better grasp on the government, nations, institutions, and so on. This way, if I reach a part in the story where I find I need something, it’s already been worked out.

Some authors go even further, outlining the entire book before writing the first word. I think I’m just not built for that sort of thing; to me it seems too much like writing it twice, which means double the work. Of course, I’m sure there are some advantages for those authors, but I think the downsides outweigh the benefits.

Still, it will be interesting to see the differences in the actual writing, which doesn’t begin till November 1.

Leave a comment

Filed under Writing

Leave a Comment

