The Way Things Change in Stories

After another day of working on worldbuilding and backstory for The Heretic’s Challenge, it struck me how often things about a story change at this stage of the process.

I had originally intended to have the action in Challenge confined to one nation, with the character traveling around that nation to several locations, but after looking at some things I’ve decided to expand it to several nations. This expands the scope of the story, but makes for a lot more work for the humble author, as now I have to come up with these additional nations when most of my planning so far has been focused on a single nation.

Not, mind you, that I mind… I think it’ll be a better story for the expanded scope, and everything I can do to make the story better, I will. 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Writing

Leave a Comment

