A Difficult Decision

In what was an agonizing decision, I’ve decided to put Librarian on the back shelf for the moment and concentrate on my NaNoWriMo project, The Heretic’s Challenge (or just Challenge for short).

I still think Librarian is a worthwhile concept and fully intend to get back to it at a later date, but I’ve decided that what it will take to make it work amounts to a completely new start, using what I learned during writing it.

Make no mistake, I did learn a heck of a lot writing it, and am using a different approach on Challenge, one which I hope will work better. If it does, when I get back to Librarian I’ll use the new approach.

4 Comments

Filed under Writing

4 responses to “A Difficult Decision

  1. Sometimes that’s the right decision. We make progress as we write, so by the time we reach the end of the process we’re no longer happy with what we’ve produced. Time and distance help give a better persective – and a rest from the story to refresh.

    Good luck with Heretic’s Challenge in NaNoWriMo!

  2. Pingback: On NOT Hiring an Editor (Interview) - Page 12

  3. chesterama

    You can’t go wrong on this. Its nice to take a break from a project we’ve been working on for a while. And NaNo will rejuvenate your creative spirit, which you can then use to edit Librarian.

Leave a Comment